Zaragosa, Go top MVPSF elims; match play on



CEBU – Rupert Zaragosa rebounded from an opening round mishap with a brilliant four-under 68 as he shared low medal honors with Cebuana Lois Kaye Go in the first MVPSF Visayas Regional Match Play Championship at the Cebu Country Club here Tuesday.

The fancied Zaragosa, who groped for form with a 76 in the opener of the 36-hole stroke play elims Monday, birdied three of the first seven holes to spark his rally then hit four more birdies against three bogeys the rest of the way to produce the tournament-best 33-35 card at the tight CCC layout.

With a 144 aggregate, the diminutive Zaragosa took the top seeding in the match play phase, which starts today, with the reigning Philippine Junior Stroke Play champion fancied to get past Victor Advincula, who grabbed the 32nd spot with a 234 after a 132.

Go added a 76 to her opening 75 but the local ace still dominated the ladies side with a 151 for a first round knockout match with Renafe Arnado, who pooled a 209 after a 106 in the week-long event sponsored by the MVP Sports Foundation, Smart, PLDT, Metro Pacific Invesments Corp. and the Philippine Sports Commission and held as part of the PLDT Group National Amateur Golf Tour.

Reigning national champion Harmie Constantino also carded a 76 to clinch the second seeding at 157 and a duel with Mercy Garcia in the other half of the draw of the tournament organized and conducted by the National Golf Association of the Philippines.

Cebuano Mark Dy, who set the men’s pace with a 72 in the first round, actually held his own with an opening 34 but the Cebuano bet wavered at the back, fumbling with a double-bogey on No. 13 and three bogeys with no birdie to show for a 41 and a 75 for a 147.

He settled for No. 3 and a clash with No. 30 Sir Cross Abarintos, who had a 186 after a 96 with Rolando Pila seizing the second seeding with a 146 after a second straight 73.

Pila birdied three of the first four holes but made two bogeys against a birdie in the next eight holes and missed wresting the No. 1 spot with three bogeys in the last six. He plays Jefferson Rivera, who assembled a 192 after a 97.

Others who advanced to the KO phase were Jolo Magcalayo (74-152), Miguel Guerrero (74-154), Chepe Dulay (79-154), Harvey Sytiongsa (76-155), Jonas Magcalayo (76-155), Airon Sorino (78-156), Tyler Po (75-157), Marko Sarmiento (81-159), Armand Guangko (79-160), Ariel Mangana (80-160), Ferdinand Chua (81-163) and Pio Barandog Jr. (79-163).

Also in the hunt in the ladies’ hunt are Junia Gabasa (79-164), Kristine Torralba (83-164), Jona Magcalayo (88-172), Riko Nagai (88-177), Ryoko Nagai (91-187), Grace Sosas (91-190), Mariestila Borres (89-191), Lalay Lava (100-200), Jahnna Abella (105-200), Mirasol Panong (101-202) and Grace Quintanilla (100-204).

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.