Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :
Home / Articles / Ong-Damole duo scores repeat in Coral Invitational

Ong-Damole duo scores repeat in Coral Invitational



Like successful business ventures, decisions about keeping partners and doing what you do best together can also get the same results in golf.
This as the tandem of up and coming real estate tycoon Joy Anthony Ong and retired banker Roy Damole scored a repeat as champions of the 37th Coral Invitational last Sunday at the Cebu Country Club in Cebu City.
As far as those who follow the tournament can recall, this is the only the second time that a team scored back-to-back wins in this member-guest signature event. The first team to become back-to-back champions were Wellington Lim and Retired Commodore Danny Pizarro in 2012 and 2013.

Lim and Pizarro continue to team up in the tournament and are regular contenders for the best in uniform award.

The tandem of Jojo Ong and Roy Damole (holding trophies) are flanked by officers of Cebu Country Club led by President Edward Go (extreme left) and winners of Binibining Cebu during the awards ceremony Sunday night.

Ong, whose company has built high-rise buildings in Cebu and Metro Manila, scored rounds of 48 and 45 in the Modified Stableford Scoring System. Damole, skipper of the senior team of Alta Vista Golf and Country Club in the PAL Interclub Tournament, scored identical rounds of 40 points for a team effort of 173 points on rounds of 88 and 85.
The tournament ran for four days and teams played two rounds during that period.
This event was originally played during the Sinulog week, but this year, the CCC’s board of directors decided to hold it two weeks after the Sinulog celebration so participants from out-of-town will have an easier time booking flights and hotel rooms.
The team of ex-pro Mark Dy (39-40) and Orchard’s King Stehmeier (36-36) bagged the lowest gross honors with an aggregate of seven-under-par 151 points.
First runner-up overall was the tandem of Washington Lim (46-42) and Hawaii’s Dale Nagata (40-40) with a total of 168 points.
Second runner-up was the all-lawyer tandem of Tito Pintor (44-41) and Marlou Cugtas (40-40) with with 165 points edging the pair of Billy Tan (43-42) and his son-in-law John Casas (40-40) in the countback.
Tan and Casas settled for the third runner-up honors while fourth runner-up was the tandem of Andre Borromeo (40-44) and Mandaue City Councilor Nilo Seno (40-40) with 164 points.
Ernesto ‘Dodong’ Siguan (37-44) and Nelson Muñeses (40-40) finished with 161 points to take fifth runner-up honors edging Gilfer Alvarez and Michael Laurenana in the countback.

Antonio Wee (44-49) and Leo Saberon (35-40) combined for 168 points to rule this category for teams whose total ages are not less than 120 years and no member must be less than 55 years old.

Tony Wee and Leo Saberon (holding trophies) bagged the seniors’ division title. They received their awards from officers of Cebu Country Club and winners of the Binibining Cebu.

First runner-up was the duo of Ito Mamuro (42-42) and William Lim (40-38) with 162 points.
Wellington Lim (46-37) and Retired Commodore Danny Pizarro (36-37) finished as second runner-up with 156 points.

Tony Wee bagged the overall lowest net honors with his 93-point output beating Joy Anthony Ong in the countback.
Mark Dy bagged the overall lowest gross honors with rounds of 39 and 40 for a two-day total of seven-under-par 79 points.

The best score for the first day for the regular division went to Alvarez and Laurenana with 85 points.
While the best for the seniors were Bebot Baldemor and Choi Ramos with 80 points.
The best second day score for the regular group was logged by Thomas Castillo and Dominic Hing with 83 points.
The best for the seniors in the second round were Nelson Yuvallos and Retired Justice Pampio Abarintos with 81.
The special prize for best in uniform went to George Hong and Arnold Jumalon.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar