NAGT: Echavez-Lopez and Lim rule race in Danao City

By Mars G. Alison


Lorhiz Echavez-Lopez of the Omega Pro Triathlon Team and Kristianne Lim of Team Parklane clinched the female and male titles, respectively, of last Sunday’s Cebu leg of the 2014 National Age-Group Triathlon Series held in Danao City in northern Cebu.

The race which started and ended at the new Danao City Boardwalk had participants completing a 1-kilometer swim, 30-K bike and a 7.5-K run.

Echavez-Lopez’s preparation for this event was worth it after she clinched the Female Open title with a time of one hour and 22 minutes, more than 12 minutes than her closest pursuer.

The top Male and Female Open winners pose with Oscar “Boying” Rodriguez (extreme right) and Danao City Vice Mayor Red Durano and Rep. Ace Durano (3rd from left) after the awarding of the Cebu Leg of the 2014 National Age-Group Triathlon Series. (Photo by Mary Jane V. Catriz)

The former national team member said the Boardwalk was a nice venue.  She, however, would have preferred a longer distance for the bike stage.

Finishing second to Echavez-Lopez was Nia Aldeguer who finished the race in 1:34:21 while settling for third place was Rachell Cabrera with a time of 1:39:31.

Lim, on the other hand, clinched the Male Open title after clocking 1:08:08. He was trailed by Allan Ting also of Team Parklane in second place with his time of 1:17:09 while salvaging third place was Leonardo Angeles Jr. who finished the race in 1:19:04. (Please check list below for age-group winners).

In the Duathlon, a run-bike-run race, Michel Largo reigned supreme in the men’s division with a time of 59:41 while the distaff side was ruled by Chyrel Gomez who clocked 1:40:54.

Finishing as runners-up to Largo were Robert Daang (1:01:21) in second place and Kenneth Villanas (1:13:03) in third place.

            Finishing second and third respectively in the women’s division were Grazeilla Villareal with a time of 1:49:37 and Ellen Archival who had 1:57:46.

The Relay contest was ruled by Team Durano manned by brothers—Rep. Ace Durano and Danao Vice Mayor Red Durano, and Councilor Mix Durano who combined for 1:33:08, relegating Team Pagay to second place with 1:33:26 and Team Stevens to third place 1:34:35.

Oscar “Boying” Rodriguez, who spearheads the organization of the event, said that the race gathered 151 participants.

He said this will be the first of many races that will be held in Danao with another triathlon race being mulled in time for the city’s fiesta in September.



Female 25-34

1st place – Michelle Go (2:01:40)


Female 35 Over

1st place – Vangie Janea (1:49:56)

2nd place – Kathrina Catingub (1:57:27)

3rd place – Mary Ann delos Santos


Male 18-19

1st place – Alec Donray Noval (1:24:07)

2nd place – Jose Gabriel Soberano (1:25:20)

3rd place – Nikko Otadoy (1:31:41)


Male 20-24

1st place – Stefan Cagulada (1:22:08)

2nd place – Rodney Reyes (1:22:39)

3rd place – Gian Alphonso Ylaya (1:26:19)


Male 25-29

1st place – Alvirg Busa (1:21:24)

2nd place – Bryan Lawas (1:25:10)

3rd place – Alexander Diaz (1:25:36)


Male 30-34

1st place – Lecenio Pormento (1:24:33)

2nd place – Frederick Castaneda (1:30:09)

3rd place – Jan Dennis Sinda (1:30:28)


Male 35-39

1st place – Expedito Dublin (1:21:27)

2nd place – Ritchie Mataragnon (1:21:54)

3rd place – Yuri Abalo (1:30:03)


Male 40-44

1st place – Gandhi Truya (1:25:40)

2nd place – Jun Barcenas (1:29:13)

3rd place – Rodjard Soriba (1:33:37)


Male 45-49

1st place – Henry Benlot (1:35:08)

2nd place – Allain Anthony Alvez (1:37:05)

3rd place – Dino Rosales (1:43:58)


Male 50 Over

1st place – Cesar Telen (1:46:25)

2nd place – Leo Manulat (1:47:51)

3rd place – Oliver Oliverio (1:47:51)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.