Lascuña, Mondilla seek No. 3 at ICTSI Forest Hills



Tony Lascuña and Clyde Mondilla brace for a fierce showdown as they target win No. 3 on the ICTSI Philippine Golf Tour, which resumes Wednesday with the ICTSI Forest Hills Championship at the Forest Hills Golf and Country Club in Antipolo, Rizal.

Tony Lascuña
Tony Lascuña

But while Mondilla is coming off a three-week rest following a joint fourth finish at Eagle Ridge Invitational, Lascuña will be coming into the P2 million event toughened up by a Top 15 finish in last Sunday’s Queen’s Cup in Thailand.

Still, the rigors of playing four tough rounds in Thailand then competing with the local aces with hardly enough time to rest could take their toll on the 46-year-old Lascuña, who held off a rallying Japanese Ryoma Miki to snare the ICTSI Eagle Ridge crown by one.

That was the ace Davaoeño’s shotmaker’s second victory in the season after romping off with a four-stroke victory over Korean Hyeok Park Jun at Luisita last April.

Mondilla has also posted two wins – in back-to-back fashions, ruling the Manila Masters in a playoff triumph over Jobim Carlos and dominating the field in the Calatagan leg of the circuit sponsored by ICTSI and organized by Pilipinas Golf Tournaments, Inc.

Clyde Mondilla
Clyde Mondilla

But the rising Del Monte star struggled a bit at Eagle Ridge, finishing six strokes behind Lascuña in the seventh leg of annual circuit backed by Custom Clubmakers, adidas, KZG, Summit Mineral Water, Srixon, Pacsports, TaylorMade, Sharp and Champion.

A host of others, however, are also in hot pursuit of the top P360,000 purse, guaranteeing four days of top-level action on a tough, windy course hosting a PGT leg for the first time in six years.

They include Carlos, Jay Bayron, Jhonnel Ababa, Jerson Balasabas, Jun Bernis, Michael Bibat, Cassius Casas, Marvin Dumandan, Mhark Fernando, Zanieboy Gialon, Cebuano Charles Hong, Benjie Magada, Rey Pagunsan, Mars Pucay, Justin Quiban, Micah Shin, Elmer Salvador and Orlan Sumcad.

Frankie Miñoza is also in the fold along with Dutch Guido Van der Valk, Japanese Yuta Sudo and Koichi Minami and Koreans Charlie Chang, Song Hyup Hong, Kim Chang Yeon, Thomas Kim, Brian Kim, Park Chan Jung, Park Jun Song and Park Min Ung and American Chris Oetinger.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.