Henson to grace 32nd SAC-SMB Sports Awards 2014

VETERAN sportswriter Quinito Henson will be the guest of honor in the annual Sportswriters Association of Cebu-San Miguel Brewery (SAC-SMB) Sports Awards on March 26.

This is the second time for Henson, who is also a boxing and PBA anaylst, to deliver a speech in the annual gathering of Cebu’s best.

The sports awards will be at the Ayala Activity Center and will start at 3 p.m.

This year’s major awardees are world champions Johnreil Casimero, Donnie Nietes, Merlito Sabillo, Rubilen Amit, Mikaela Calamba, Glenn Lava and Rinna Babanto.

The rest of the major awardees are Andres Paul Desiderio, Arnie Christian Padilla and June Mar Fajardo for basketball, Pearl Caneda and Wilbert Aunzo for dancesport, Don Bosco Technology Center and Paref Springdale for football, Mary Grace de los Santos and Mary Joy Tabal for running, Arthur Craig Pantino and Jan Godfrey Seno for tennis and Joseph Miller and Justin Liam Chiongbian for triathlon.

Others who will receive major awards are Julius Nierras (athletics), Kim Lao (bowling), the Cebu Country Club men’s team in the PAL Interclub (golf), Kiyomi Sarausad Watanabe (judo), Johnny Arcilla (tennis) and Rhey Jay Ortouste (sepak takraw) and Elwin Retanal.

The major awardees are the candidates for the Athlete of the Year and the winner will be announced on awards night.

Aside from the major awardees, SAC-SMB will also hand out citations to standout performances of Cebuanos in the national stage last year.

Beach volleyball national champions Jusabelle Brillo, Apple Saraum, Jade Becaldo, Edward Ybanez and Mike Abria will receive citations along with athletics star Daniel Noval and Pearl Angeline Abellar.

In basketball, those who will receive citations are Greg Slaughter, Mark Javen tallo, Sacred Heart School-Ateneo de Cebu, Southwestern University and the University of the Visayas, while for boxing, the awardees are Arthur Villanueva, Bruno Escalante, Genesis Servania, Jason pagara, Jimrex Jaca, Marlon Tapales, Milan Melindo and Vergilio Silvano for the pros and Hipolito Banal and Jeffrey Estella for the amateurs.

In chess, the Cebu Executives and Professionals Chess Association will be feted along with Diego Abraham Claro, Felix Shaun Balbona, Jerish John Velarde and Rhenzi Kyle Sevillano.

Cebuanos who made the national team in football–Arantxa Mari Trebol, Erik Ngitz Lovitos, Kintaro Miyagi, Major Dean Ebarle, Moiselle Angelo Alforque, Elson Dorimon, Neil Minoza, Paolo Pascual, Ivan Palmero and Val Calvo– will also receive citations along with the Cebu Football Association.

Others who will receive citations are the Banilad Elementary School badminton team, Ana Patricia Maximo, John Mier, Nino Surban, Team Cebu City Dancesport, John Rey Tongco, Joseph Falcone, Club Filipino de Cebu, Ericka Lim, Gen Nagai, Junia Gabasa, Daniela dela Pisa, Kimberly Gabrielle Paler, Joaquin NIcolo Fernandez, Daniel Miranda, Jette Calderon, Cary Bullos and Yaw-Yawn Ardigma Cebu.

Bj Pepito and Jonjon Adlawan will also receive citations along with the Cebu Lady Dragons and rugby players Eloisa Jordan, Madil Salinas and Tonette Gambito.

Also to receive citations are Anthony Lynn Navarro, Michael Ichiro Kong, Val Andre Chiu, Team Cebu City table tennis, Maegan Bugarin, Moises Bullecer, Miguel Calamba, Nichole Maurin, Veronica Garces, Jana Marie Pages, Zethley Mae Alferez, Aaliyah Ricci Mataragnon, Philip Duenas, Ralph Eduard So, Neil Perino, Danika Gendrauli, Clark Cuico, Kelle Kay Rojas, Luis Ansag, Prisaa Central Visayas, Ulyross Lopez, Mark Kevin Petancio, Shaia Uy, Yuan Chiongbian and Macavynger Alob.

SAC will also hand out post humous awards to Alfonso Canizares and NM Roger Abella.

The awardees are requested to e-mail their latest photo to [email protected] for inclusion in the awards night.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.