Donnie Nietes leads boxing awardees



The longest reigning Filipino world boxing champion, WBO light flyweight king Donnie “Ahas” Nietes of the ALA Boxing Gym will be the lone recipient of a major award for the sport this April 20 during the 34th Sportswriters Association of Cebu (SAC)-San Miguel Brewery (SMB) Sports Awards that will be held at the Robinson’s Galleria Cebu.

Nietes won all of his three fights last year in dominant fashion which earned him the plum for the 34th edition of SAC-San Miguel Brewery Sports Awards. After breaking the late Gabriel Elorde’s record of holding the title for seven years on January 2015, Nietes scored a nanimous decision win over Mexican Gilberto Parra on March 28 at the Araneta Coliseum followed by another win over Francisco Rodriguez Jr. here in Cebu and Juan Alejo in the U.S last October.

He now extended his record to eight years and three months as the longest reigning Filipino world champion in boxing and he is set to defend his WBO world light flyweight title against former world champion Raul “Rayito” Garcia on May 28 in a homecoming fight that will serve as the main event for “Pinoy Pride 36: Legend In the Making” that will be held at the Saint La Salle coliseum in Bacolod City.

Nietes was last year’s “Athlete of the Year.”

Joining him on April 20 will be his stablemates Jason Pagara and Mark Magsayo who are both scheduled to fight on April 23’s “The Time Has Come: Donaire Vs. Bedak” at the Cebu City Sports Center.

Both Magsayo and Pagara will receive special citations along with Albert Pagara, Kevin Jake Cataraja, Arthur Villanueva, Kenny Demecillo and Marlon Tapales.

Amateur boxers who shone in last year’s national competitions will also be feted on April 20. They are; John Niño Vega, Vicente Seos-e, Eduardo Jimenez, Alexander Bonito, Berland Robles and Dominic Castañares.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.