Club Filipino holds on to Sportswriters Div. lead



Club Filipino holds on to the lead in the third-ranked Sportswriters Division in the penultimate round of the 67th Philippine Airlines (PAL) Interclub in Negros Occidental.

The other Cebu teams in the tournament, including defending back-to-back champion Cebu Country Club, continue to grope for form with the tournament entering its final round Saturday.

Club Filipino has a three-day total of 293 points on rounds of 101, 98, and 96.  The team could have slipped to second had it not been for a two-point penalty slapped on Eagle Ridge, which has a total of 292 points.

Eagle Ridge was given a two-point penalty after Kim Dong Hee played a shot even if he was playing for no more point.

The Sportswriters Division, which will wrap up competition at the Bacolod Golf club in the town of Murcia, Saturday, will probably have the closest battle for the top honors.

The second team of Club Filipino, which is playing the third and fourth rounds, with skipper Evans Tumaliwan (extreme right) pose for posterity in this picture posted on Tumaliwan’s Facebook page. The team members are (from left) Victor Yuvallos, Jufil Sato, Raymond Garcia, Hector Almario, and Andot Mondares.



            Orchard holds on to the lead in the premiere category with a three-day total of 351points on rounds of 129, 109, and 113.  Those who counted for the team total Friday in the five-to-play, four-to-count format were Niko Santiano 33, ex-pro Raymund Sangil 32, Rodel Magulabnan 29, and Tonito Payumo 19.  The 17 of TJ Benitez did not count.

Seizing second is Alabang with 341 points (109-118-114). Sebastian Lorenzo led the team Friday with 31 and was backed by Christopher Popp with 30,  Jama Reyes 28, and Gabriel Manotoc 25.

Del Monte dropped to third with 335 points on rounds of 126, 106 and 103.  At fourth is Cebu Country Club with 323 on rounds of 115, 110, and 98.

Eric Deen, many times winner of the CCC club championships, led their team in the third round with six-over-par 30 points.  Also counting for the team total were Gen Nagai 25, Carl Almario 23 and either of the 20s submitted by Harvey Sytiongsa and Kiyofumi Takahashi.

The teams for this class played at Bacolod Golf Club Friday and action shifts to Negros Occidental Golf and Country Club for the final round.

Cebu Country Club is still hoping to salvage a podium finish with their final round team of club president Ramontito Garcia, Andre Borromeo, Bayani Garcia, Jovi Neri, and Marko Sarmiento.



            Co-host NOGCC remains on top in this second-ranked group with an aggregate of 326 points on rounds of 100, 120, and 106.  Tonchy de Leon, Kokoy Locsin, and Jimmy Yusay each turned in 27 points in the third round and last to count was Ray Lim with 25.  Chris Infante made 21, which did not count.

At second is Valley Golf with 314 (114-96-104) followed by Manila Southwoods with 310 (106-95-109).

Riviera is fourth with 298 (101-93-104) followed by Sta. Elena with 296 (98-96-102), Wack-Wack 293 (83-100-110), and Zaboanga 292 (106-94-92).

Three teams are tied for eighth with 287 apiece.  These are Forest Hills (97-103-87), Apo (110-90-87), and Tagaytay Highlands (103-96-88).

Alta Vista is at 11th with 285 on rounds of 87, 104, and 94.  Rookie Aris Mata once again led the team in scoring with 27 points and also counting for the team total were Enrico Solon 23 and Victor Gocela and Wendell Yap with 22 apiece. The 19 of Charlie Gaite did not count.

The final team that will play at NOGCC Saturday will be composed of 14-year-old Weiwei Gao, 18-year-old Sir Cross Abarintos, Marvin Mendoza, Jun Zambo, and skipper Gocela.

Mactan Island Golf Club is tied for 15th with Manila Golf with 270 points each.  Mactan fired rounds of 93, 93, and 84.  Those who counted in the third round were Jun Dayot 27, Pio Barandog 22, Nilo Seno 18, and either of the 17s of Marlo Cugtas and Elvis Jequinto.  The same players, except for Dayot, will play in the final round along with Andrew Cañete.



            Club Filipino had a balanced offense on the third round with Raymond Garcia leading the team scoring 26 points.  The others who counted were Jufil Sato 25, Fernando Mondares 23, and Victor Yuvallos 22.  Hector Almario made 10 points, which did not count.

The same team will hold the fort for Club Filipino in the final round.

The Club Filipino team gathered for dinner Thursday night in Bacolod before the first team returned to Cebu. Standing (from left) are Baltaire Balangauan, Jufil Sato, Evans Tumaliwan, Raymond Garcia, Peter Militante, and Victor Yuvallos. Seated are (from left) Razy Razon, Ted Almario, Andot Mondares, and Hector Almario.

Eagle Ridge made rounds of 101, 85, and 106 and is definitely within striking distance of the defending champions from Cebu.

Another title threat is Lumbia, which has a three-day aggregate of 291 points on rounds of 109, 84, and 98.

This category will be the group to watch in the final round.



            Victorias leads this group with a three-day total of 243 points (94-72-77).

At second is South Cotabato with 239 followed by Fil-Am Hawaii 234, and Cotabato with 228.

This year’s Interclub is being co-sponsored by CrossOver with Boeing, Philippines Graphic, Stargate Media (People Asia) and Rogue as corporate backers. Also lending support are Airbus, Business Mirror, One Mega Group (Travel Now), Philippine Broadcasting Corporation, Manila Broadcasting Corporation, Petron and Manila Bulletin.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.