Club Filipino finishes third in group, other Cebu teams falter



Club Filipino became the only Cebu team to make it to the podium at the close of the 67th Philippine Airlines Interclub Golf Tournament in Negros Occidental Saturday.

The Danao City-based team failed to defend its title in the Sportswriters Division, but settled for third place behind Eagle Ridge and Lumbia.

Orchard won its maiden title in the annual event by topping the premiere Championship Division while back-to-back champion Cebu Country Club finished fourth.

Alta Vista Golf and Country Club scored its best round on the final day, but was way too deep in the hole to recover.

Mactan Island Golf Club also failed to move up.  Alta Vista and Mactan were both grouped in the second-ranked Founders Division.



            Orchard fired a total of 477 points on rounds of 129, 109, 113, and 126 to win the crown.  Jikjik Abdon led the team on the final day with a two-over-par 34 output and others who counted were King Stehmeier with 33, Ace Stehmeier with 30, and either of the 29s of Ian Arcilla and JP de Claro.  The other members of the team were TJ Benetiz, Rodel Mangulabnan, Tonito Payumo, Raymund Sangil, and Niko Santiano.

Second place went to Alabang Country Club with 459 points on rounds of 109, 118, 114, and 118.  The team was composed of JB Garcia, Dax Garcia, Basti Lorenzo, Gabriel Manotoc, Christopher Popp, Justin Quiban, Jama Reyes, Andres Saldana, Paul Salvador, and Miguel Shah.

Bukidnon’s Del Monte Golf Club took third place with 453 points on rounds of 126, 106, 103, and 118.  The team was composed of Magno Arancon Jr., Julius Bautista, Arnido Callo, Mel Cubillo, Jelbert Gamolo, Noel Langgamin, Leonard Lofranco, Jovencio Lusterio Jr., Francis Morilla, and Jansn Morilla.

Cebu Country Club finished with a total of 437 on rounds of 115, 110, 98, and 114.  Counting for the team total in the final round were Marko Sarmiento 31, Montito Garcia 29, Bayani Garcia 27, and Jovi Neri 27.  The 24 of Andre Borromeo did not count.  The other members of the team were Carl Almario, Eric Deen, Gen nagai, Harvey Sytiongsa, and Kiyofumi Takahashi.



            It was home sweet home for co-host Negros Occidental Golf and Country Club, which coasted to the title in this group playing in their home course on the final round.  The team fired a four-day total of 452 points on rounds of 100, 120, 106, and 126.

Veteran Francis Gaston showed his mastery of the course with a two-over-par 34 points performance.  He was backed by Juston Limjap and Chepe Dulay with 31 apiece and Max Javelona with 30.  The 28 of Paulo Rojas did not count.  The rest of the team were Tonchy de Leon, Chris Infante, Ray Lim, Kokoy Locsin, and Jimmy Yusay.

Second place went to Manila Southwoods with 433 on rounds of 106, 95, 109, and 123.  The team members were Ferdinand Agustin, Antonio Asitio, Shean Bedi, Thirdy Escaño, Vince Lauron, Theodore Pascual, Jun Plana, Jose Roy III, Joseph Tambunting, and Ken Yasuma.

Third place went to Wack-Wack with 404 (83-100-110-111) followed by Valley with 402 (114, 96, 104, 88) and Riviera 397 (101, 93, 104, 99).

Alta Vista finished sixth with 395 points on rounds of 87, 104, 94, 110.  14-year-old Weiwei Gao and Marvin Mendoza led the team on the final day with identical scores of 29 points.  Also counting for the team total were Victor Gocela 27, and Jun Zambo 25.  Sir Cross Abarintos almost scored his age, but his 17 points did not count for the total.

Other members of the Alta Vista team were Charlie Gaite, Anton Pastoriza, Aris Mata, Wendell Yap, and Enrico Solon.

Mactan Island Golf Club was still playing as of press time, but is already out of the running.



            Eagle Ridge pulled the rug from under Club Filipino with a huge final round.  The team from General Trias, Cavite fired rounds of 101, 85, 106, and 92.

The team was composed of Arnel Agustin, Eric Arbues, Raymund Bonquin, Cho Han Dyo, Dan Emelio Cruz, Dante Felisarta, Kim Dong Hee, George Samonte, Boyet Sortijas, and Carlos Tinio III.

Second place went to Lumbia with 377 points on rounds of 109, 84, 98, 86.

Club Filipino, winner of this division last year in Cebu, finished with 376 points to finish third. The team fired rounds of 99, 98, 96, and 83.  Jufil Sato led the team on thje final round played at Bacolod Golf Club in the town of Murcia with 24 points.  Raymond Garcia and Andot Mondares each fired 21 and last to count was Victor Yuvallos with 17.  The 11 of Hector Almario did not count.

The other members of the team were Ted Almario, Baltaire Balangauan, Peter Militante, Razy Razon, and skipper Evans Tumaliwan.


            Fil-Am Hawaii topped this fourth-ranked group with an aggregate of 319 points on rounds of 79, 79, 76, and 85.

Second place went to Victorias with 313 (94-72-77-70) while third place went to South Cotabato with 312 (80-91-68-73).

This year’s Interclub is being co-sponsored by CrossOver with Boeing, Philippines Graphic, Stargate Media (People Asia) and Rogue as corporate backers. Also lending support are Airbus, Business Mirror, One Mega Group (Travel Now), Philippine Broadcasting Corporation, Manila Broadcasting Corporation, Petron and Manila Bulletin.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.