Cebu’s Lagman, Kinaadman gain in Olivarez Cup



Wild card Jacob Lagman of Cebu and qualifier Joshua Kinaadman came away with big victories over their respective seeded rivals to barge into the third round of the men’s Open singles of the sixth Olivarez Cup Tennis Championship at the Olivarez Sports Center in Sucat, Parañaque Monday.

Lagman, one of the rising stars from Mactan, Lapu-Lapu City, pulled off a 6-1, 1-0 (ret.) win over No. 9 Arcie Mano in the upper bracket while Cebu find Kinaadman shocked No. 11 Stefan Suarez, 6-4, 6-3, in the lower half of the draw of the premier class which features the country’s top players, headed by top seed PJ Tierro and Johnny Arcilla.

The second seeded Arcilla, who drew a first round bye, routed Betto Orendain, 6-0, 6-0, to advance to the Last 16 while Tierro was playing Joseph Arcilla at presstime, hoping for a win and a third round clash with No. 14 Deo Talatayod, who held off Kennex Abadia, 4-6, 7-6(1), 6-4, in the tournament presented by Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Pera Padala and sanctioned by Philta.

Others who advanced in the event backed by Dunlop AllClay Court as the official ball, Stronghold Insurance and Aseana City were No. 8 Bryan Otico, who scored a walkover win over Leander Lazaro; No. 10 Arvin Ruel, who took a 7-5, 4-1 (ret.) win over Kyle Parpan; and another wild card by fancied Casey Alcantara, who scored a 3-1 (ret.) win over No. 13 Kim Saraza.

“We expect more reversals as the tournament progresses and continue to discover fresh talents,” said Philta president and Paranaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez, who also cited Palawan Pawnshop COO Bobby Castro’s continued support to the annual event also held in honor of former Paranaque City Mayor Pablo Olivarez.

Meanwhile, National U-A toppled University of the Philippines-B, 3-0, while UST-B edged Ateneo-B, 2-1, and UP-B rebounded with a 2-1 win over Perpetual Help in Group A of the four-division men’s inter-college category.

UE-A and NU-B scored similar 3-0 romps over St. Benilde-B and San Sebastian-A in Group B, while UST-A blanked SSC-B, 3-0, Rizal Technological U nipped SSC-B, 2-1, and UE-B edged La Salle-Zobel, 2-1, in Group C.

UP-A posted a pair of 3-0 routs over St. Benilde and NU-C in Group D that also saw CSB thump Ateneo-A, 3-0, NU-C nipped Arellano U, 2-1, and UST-C defeat AU, 2-1.

In the two-group ladies inter-college tilt, CSB-A racked three straight wins over NU-A, 2-1; UST-A, 2-1; and SSC, 3-0, to pace Group A with NU-A, UST-A and AU scoring a win each.

Erika Manduriao also joined the big guns’ charge in women’s Open singles, dominating Krizzan Dumlao, 6-1, 6-2, while Mae Siso thwarted Aileen Rogan, 6-3, 7-6(3); and Sam Coyiuto downed Macy Gonzales, 6-1, 7-5.

Others in the fold are top seed Khim Iglupas, No. 2 Marian Capadocia, third ranked Edilyn Balanga, fourth seed Clarice Patrimonio, No. 5 Marinel Rudas, sixth ranked Maia Balce, No. 7 Hannah Espinosa and eighth ranked Christine Patrimonio.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.