Arcilla banners Palawan Pawnshop Tuna Fest cast



Johnny Arcilla, fresh from his three-peat feat at Olivarez Cup, heads a tough cast that includes the cream of the country’s tennis crop as action in the Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Pera Padala Tuna Festival 2014 fires off today at the Gen. Santos City courts in Gen. Santos City.

Arcilla wore down Vicente Anasta in four to annex his third straight crown in the annual Olivarez Cup last Sunday with the veteran campaigner, also a many-time PCA Open champion, seeking to add another crown to his vast trophy room in the six-day championship sponsored by Palawan Pawnshop-Palawan Express Padala and hosted by Gen. Santos City.

But he will be facing a field teeming with talents, including PJ Tierro, out to atone for this failed bid in Olivarez Cup where he bowed to Anasta in the semis, along with Marc Reyes, Rolando Ruel Jr., Ronard Joven, Roel Capangpangan, Arvin Rule, Mark Alcoseba, Bryan de Casa and Kenneth Salvo.

Local aces have also confirmed their participation in the six-day P160,000 tournament sanctioned by Philta, vowing all-out to spoil the fancied players from the Big City for the top P40,000 purse in the men’s Open singles.

“We thank our national team players for making this tournament a top-level one. Their participation will not only lend prestige but will also inspire the young players to strive for excellence,” said Philta president and Paranaque City Mayor Edwin Olivarez.

He also cited Palawan Pawnshop’s long-term commitment to develop the sport and give those in the countryside a chance to compete in top-level tournaments.

“It has been the commitment of Palawan Pawnshop to support and develop our players by providing top-notch tournaments like this which will surely inspire our young players to achieve a higher level of play,” said Palawan Pawnshop COO Bobby Castro.

“We would like to invite all tennis aficionados and sports to watch this big tournament which features the country’s leading players and rising stars,” said event host Atty. Jun Lagare.

Spicing up the event is the age-group tournament which features the future of Philippine tennis, including John David Velez, Shaira Hope Rivera, Patricia Velez, Kyle and JM Sing of Davao, Nicole Bautista, Ma. Angelica Novis, Antoni Firman of Malita, Jyle Cyrin Martinez of Digos, AJ Alejandre of Midsayap;

Merwin Estrellado, Marco Barrios, Shane Barrios of Kidapawan, Minet April Bentillo, Ramwel Bentillo, Mark Alfred Directo, Carlyn Bless Guarde, Vince EJ Tugade of Sultan Kudarat, Jazzele and Tennielle Madis, Cedric and Andrei Pamplona of M’lang, Kathleen Arandia, Nicolo Gorospe, LJ Mangudadatu of Koronadal, Sharyl Mae delos Santos, Jelic delos Santos of Gen. Santos City, Kobe Suico and Gil Molina of Tadeco, and Vergel Corpuz and Brylle Chatto of Glan.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.