Almario and his angels top 17th Corn Tee



The team of Teddy Almario bagged the overall title in the 17th Corn Tee Golf Tournament played at the Club Filipino, Inc. de Cebu course in Pulangyuta, Danao City.

The tournament held last September 4 to 7 allowed the participants to play two rounds during that period.  The Modified Stableford scoring system was used in the four-man team event.

The tournament, which is CFIC’s annual member-guest event, required teams to be composed of one member and three guests.

Almario’s team fired a total of 239 points in the four-to-play, three-to-count format. He was backed by three women for the winning run.  His teammates were Cheche Darnall, Virgie Hwang, and Choi Yi Hwa.

Firing an eagle-aided 46 on the first day, Almario set the pace for his team by adding 42 points on the second day.  He nailed his third shot on the par-5 11th for an eagle.

Darnall had rounds of 40 and 34 while Hwang made 36 and 40.  Choi had 28 and 28.

The division A title went to the team to Hospicio ‘Razi’ Razon with 238 points.  Razon fired rounds of 33 and 42 and was ably backed by teammates Noel Abad (39-39), Oscar Cornelio (41-39), and JR Aguilon (38-38).

The runner-up honors for division A went to the team of Ramon Sebastian with 235 points.  Sebastian shot rounds of 37 and 41.  Vic Gocela made 41 and 38, Nolan Rada had 38 and 40, while Nestor Mendoza shot 29 and 35.

Since club members were allowed to field more than one team, Dominc Gotiong, who fired rounds of 38 and 39, was a double winner in division B as his teams took the first and second places.

The team that he manned along with Glenn Siao (32-37), Kenneth Cue (40-42), and Carlo Dimaala (34-44) made a total of 237 points to bag the title.

His runner-up team was two points back.  His teammates were Kenneth Robin (41-41), Paolo Alberto (35-41), and Rogelio del Prado (33-37).

The division C crown went to the team of Efren Palugod (33-31).  His temmates were Rene Piano (39-36), Gary Lim (37-39), and Emelio Tan (37-39).

Runner-up honors went to the team of Ramon “Boboy” Durano IV. Durano made 41-44, while his teammates were Leo Quimco (35-32), Bam Jamorabo (40-41), and Tatto Sanchez (29-31).

Marc Gonzales eagled the par-4 Hole No. 7 to take home the Skygo motorcycle, courtesy of Mario King.  The prize was put on line for an eagle on any of the par-4 holes of the course designed and built by the late Peter Chiongbian, who was fondly called Maestro by his numerous golf students.

Nobody won the Php 1 million, which was put on the line as hole-in-one prize on all par-3s by Monterazzas.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.