Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views : Ad Clicks : Ad Views :
Home / Articles / PAL Interclub: Mactan holds on to lead, King scores ace

PAL Interclub: Mactan holds on to lead, King scores ace



Mactan Island Golf Club (MIGC) is once again carrying the torch of the Cebu teams in the Philippine Airlines Interclub Golf Tournament as it continues to lead the fourth-ranked Sportswriters Division of this annual tournament played at the Negros Occidental Golf and Country Club (Marapara) and the Bacolod Golf and Country Club (Binitin).
The highlight for the Cebuanos on the penultimate day of the tournament was, however, an ace on the par-3 hole No. 18 of the Bacolod Golf and Country Club made by Sir Cross ‘King’ Abarintos of Alta Vista Golf and Country Club.
Abarintos said that he choked his Adams Golf hybrid club on the 180-yard closing hole of the course located in the town of Murcia.
“I seem to have topped my shot a bit, but the ball went straight. I did not expect it to go in, but then somebody shouted that I made a hole-in-one,” Abarintos said.
That was his first-ever ace.
In the Founders Division, Cebu Country Club dropped to third spot going to the final round, but remains in contention for a podium finish.
Club Filipino Incorporada de Cebu also looms to finish among the top three of the Sportswriters Division.

Mactan is comfortably on top of the 20-team field of this category with a three-day total of 296 points on rounds of 88, 105, and 103.
At second is Guinhalaran with 273 followed by Club Filipino with 268 points.
Alfredo Cabajar led Mactan in the third round played at Binitin shooting 29 points in the PAL Points (Stableford) system.
Also counting for Mactan in the five-to-play, four-to-count format were Army Colonel Gerry Catindoy with 26, Jay-R Aguilon with 25, and Air Force Major General Nick Parilla with 23. The 22 of Retired General Bam Jamorabo did not count.
Guinharalan had rounds of 89, 95, and 89 while Club Filipino shot 80, 98, and 90.
Counting for Club Filipino on Saturday were Mandaue City Councilor Nilo Seno with 26, Evans Tumaliwan 22, Dominic Gotiong 22, and Teddy Almario with 20. The 15 of Peter Militante did not count.
With the fourth ranked team six points behind Club Filipino, the Danao City-based team hopes to make it to the podium Sunday night.
Retuired Police General Ed Benigay said that the Mactan players are very happy where they are. He will play on the final round today in Marapara along with Pio Barandog, Retired Air Force Colonel Elvis Jequinto, Victor Radaza, and Catindoy.
The closing team for Club Filipino will be manned by councilors Seno and Raymond Garcia, Tumaliwan, Almario, and Paolo Alberto.

In the second-ranked division, Wack Wack holds an six-point lead with an aggregate of 338 points (111-121-106) followed by Forest Hills with 333 (117-106-110) and Cebu Country
Club with 332 (108-115-109).
This will make for a very interesting final round battle in Binitin.
Counting for CCC on the third day were Martin Mendoza with 29, Mark Anthony Dy and Harvey Sytiongsa with 27 apiece and Marko Sarmiento with 26. The 24 of Jufil Sato did not count.
Playing for CCC in the final round will be Bayani Garcia, skipper Eric Deen, Gio Gandionco, Marc Gonzalez, and Dy.

Alta Vista, which plays in this third-ranked group, has a very long shot for a podium finish as it sits fifth in the field of 15 teams.
Host NOGCC has virtually wrapped the crown with a total of 332 points in three rounds (105-115-112) followed by Sta. Elena with 304 and Sherwood Hills with 293.
Rancho Palos Verdes is fourth with 291 while Alta Vista is behind with 277 on rounds of 84, 104, and 89.
Abarintos led the team on day 3 with 27 points while Kong Taeyun and Jun Zambo each made 22 and last to count was Marvin Mendoza with 18. Teenager Weiyu Gao made 15 points, which did not count.
The same five players will play on the final round in Marapara.
The Interclub’s Platinum sponsors this year are Primax Broadcasting, RMN and Fox, while major sponsors are BusinessWorld Publishing, Rolls Royce, TV5, Philippine Standard.
Other sponsors include Boeing, Under Armour, Eton Properties and Asia Brewery.


Championship : Manila Southwoods 405, Luisita 385, Canlubang 369, Del Monte 350

Founders : Wack Wack 338, Forest Hills 333, Cebu 332, Tagaytay Highlands 323, The Orchard 320, Villamor Airbase 319, Riviera 310, Valley Golf CC 310, Southern California Redhawks 284, Alabang 278, Pueblo de Oro 277, Manila Golf 265, Camp Aguinaldo 244, Summit Point 239, Pinoy Vancouver 136

Aviator : Negros Occidental 332, Sta Elena 304, Sherwood Hills 293, Rancho Palos Verdes 291, Alta Vista 277, Eagle Ridge 270, Sarangani-Gensan 267, Lumbia 265, Apo 263, Stanford 261, Davao City 255, Camp John Hay 217, Greenhills West 179, Moffett Field 133, YokohM Eagles 121

Sportswriters : Mactan Island 296, Guinhilaran 273, Club Filipino de Cebu 268, Bacolod 262, Iloilo 256, Zamboanga 248, UP tee Jots 245, Tagaytay Midlands 241, Fil-Am Fairfield 239, Fil-Am Hawaii 233, Cattle Creek 213, Melbourne Pinoy 213, PGA British Columbia 203, Camp Evangelista 202, Seattle 201, Green Tee Club Riyadh 188, MSU Marawi 180, SF Maharlika 166, Pearl kai Hawaii 164, Parbreakers Golf Association of British Columbia 133

Friendship : Bay Area 241, South Cotabato 223, Pittsburg Filam 206, San Juanico 206, Filipino Golfers Assco Kuwait Team1 204, Van City 202, New Zealand Black Tees 199, Lanang 197, Baguio 192, SF Crystal Springs 186, Iligan 185, Figme Dubai 184, Mt Malindang 179, SkyWest 164, Mabuhay Golf SFO 161, Silicon Valley 149, Fil Oz Sydney 137, Figme UAE 132, Cotabato 112, Filipino Golfers Assoc Kuwait Team2 73, Greater Vancouver 104

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Pinterest

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This div height required for enabling the sticky sidebar